Electric Power

Status
Not open for further replies.
F

Fred

As anyone tried to use an electric trolling motor for auxillary propulsion on an O'Day 25? I just need to get in and out of a marina. How much thrust would I need? Thanks!

D

Don Evans

Fred, I wouldn't Do It

This question has been asked before. The overwhelming response was not to do it. The 25 weighs in about 4500 lbs. The thrust available to move this weight from an electric motor, even at a crawl is probably alot. I'm not an engineer and others can do the math on this. The auxillery, how ever you look upon its role on a sailboat, should be available to move your vessel out of harms way at a moments notice. I should think you would also need expensive batteries, deep cycles, as power consumption will be extreme. These will always have to be kept topped up, so charging them is another factor. If it was me, I would mount a 6-10 hp 4 stroke (2 stroke if you are looking cheaper), mounted on the best engine mount you can buy, kept tuned and ready to use. Your boat and life may depend upon it. Don

J

Justin - O'day Owners' Web

I agree