Coast Guard License

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Bill Jones

I am a member of the USPS (AP) and am interested in the US Coast Guard license. I have seen several study packets advertised in boating catalogs and am uncertain about which to get. I would appreciate the recommendations of any HOW.

K

Ken DeLacy

CG license type

I'm currently taking two course at a local CG auxiluary in FL, I expect to recieve certificates, but I don't know about a liscense. Ken

B

Bob Gravenstine

Try this site.

Seaschool.com This site has all the information regarding USCG Licenses. It requires time on the water along with written tests regarding your knowledge of the rules of the road, plotting and navigation, safety, firefighting, first aid, and general deck info. I assume you are a sailor so make sure you get the sailing endorsement. It will be the easy test for anyone that has done any kind of sailing. I have been an instructor for this organization so I am not totally unbiased. Check out all the others and then make the choice that best suits your needs. Most people need the classroom type study but some have passed the test using only the home study kits. It's not easy but worth the effort. GO FOR IT. You will not be sorry.

L

Lee Urbani

Go for it

Do yourself a favor and call the USCG REC (regional exam center) in Baltimore at 410-962-5132 and ask them to send you the "Mariner's License Handbook" for OUPV and Limited Tonnage Master licenses. This will tell you all you need to know about the process. If you still want to proceed then look for a good school.

W

Wayne Fredrick

Go Back to School