Cleats??????

Feb 18, 2021
Catalina 22 NA
I am close to completing a total restore on 1975 cat 22 and am in the process of drilling and putting epoxy in all the new deck thru holes for remounting all hardware. The cleats that came with are black nylon and since I am very new to sailing I wanted to ask of they were worth putting back on?
The boat will be on trailer and I will use it in a lake for this summer but at some point I expect to put it in a slip with bay access. Do these nylon cleats hold up or should they be upgraded?

Thank You!

AaronD

Aug 10, 2014
Catalina 22 9874 Newberg, OR / Olympia, WA
Good question. My experience with nylon cleats has been fine; no problems with strength or with UV (here in the cloudy PNW). But I do appreciate that I bumped up in size from 6" to 8". You can use slightly larger dock lines while she's in a slip (if you're worried about chafe while away from the boat), and have room for 2 lines if needed (e.g. for spring lines or doubling up on a mooring ball).

If you weren't already planning on midship cleats - highly recommended. I repurposed a couple of the smaller 6" cleats there; no complaints for that use case. YMMV.

And we want pics of your restoration! :)

May 23, 2016
Catalina 22 #12502 BSC
Timely question!
I have an '84, in a slip year round, no moon tide but occasionally a significant wind tide where we may lose up to 3' of water so we need to keep an eye on our dock lines (doubled all 4 corners).
This occurred recently, the stbd aft nylon cleat (intact) was found hanging on the dock lines and a 3 x 6" hole ripped out of the fiberglass. Catalina did not use backing plates under cleats, and if they did it is a skimpy piece of plywood glassed in as reported by some.