Clatter of old diesels

Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 16, 2006
Ericson 32 Oregon coast
I'm a shadetree mechanic with little knowledge of diesels. I noticed that diesel engines do not make what was a characteristic clattery sound so much in recent years. They are sometimes able to be mistaken for a gasoline engines. Anyone know why that is ?

Jul 1, 2012
Catalina C22 Georgetown
Mainly new injection technology. Older engines would only inject fuel once during the power stroke. Newer engines are injecting up to 12 times per power stroke. That and tighter tolerances in just about every moving part in the engine. Ever heard the old wives tale that if your diesel wasn't leaking oil, something was wrong with it? Those days are long gone.

Oct 6, 2011
CM 32 USA
Not only have the engines changed, the fuel changed. Have an older diesel engine? Better be putting in an additive to simulate that older style of diesel fuel. New fuel has a much lower level of sulphur, and older engines needed that sulfur to lubricate them. Lower the fuel lubrication, and lower the engine life? Many diesel people say yes.

Last edited:
Nov 8, 2009
Hunter 386LE San Fancisco
In response to the concern that ultra low sulfur diesel (ULSD) fuel does not lost its lubricity due to its ~6 ppmw low sulfur content (vs. 500 ppmw diesel prior to ULSD), a lubricity agent is added to meet ASTM 975 diesel lubricity specification. It is added to diesel during terminal truck loading. This has been in effect since ULSD.

Jul 1, 2012
Catalina C22 Georgetown
And not to mention, it was just this year that marine or "red" diesel was mandated to go to ULSD. Even then, LSD (500ppm) diesel in stockpiles can still be sold until 2014.