Cat. 30 is dead about to offer on Oday 32

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

JERRY

Made prior offer on a 82 Cat 30 but gave up after the survey found water in the A4 standing for over a year, along with a whole slew of other problems. Everybody on the Cat. forum told me to bail out, and I reluctantly did. Over the holiday I found a 77 Oday 32. I am new to sailing and appreciated all the help from the catalina people. Know I need help about the Oday!!! It is very clean with a newer Furlex roller furling main, roller furler jib, newer Horizon digital electronics(depth,Wind/speed/point,knots), Apelco DXL 6000 Loran, VHF, Autohelm 3000, new cushions with toss pillows, 2 electric heads, cockpit table, Hot/cold pressure water, Westerbeke 30 diesel, Guest 1.5 amp charger, newer dodger, Sureflo 1500 bilge and Whale gusher pumps, 2 oscillating fans, Parachute sea anchor, some tools, spare parts(small hardware), lines, fenders, older MOB horseshoe and buoy, inflatable 2 man raft, Danforth type anchor with rubber coated chain lead and rode, weather gear, old stereo and speakers(some distortion). Problems-mast lights don't seem to work, high pressure natural gas tank sits behind head in fore cabin, bad tachometer sending unit, hot water element bad. No survey done yet, $22,000 and he wants a deposit right away. He has other interested parties that didn't get inside yet, I pressured him for the cabin combo. What do you think??? Should I jump on it??? The only thing I have sailed is a Mac Gregor 25, and only about 4 times. I Know nothing about this kind of boat,Please advise!!!

D

Don Evans

Make Sale Survey Dependant