Can't decide Suzuki or Honda to power New Mac 26

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Mark

I have pretty much made up my mind on a new mac, thanks in part to this forum, Im new to sailing and power boating for that matter, I gues at 55 I've finally outgrown those personal watercraft. I'll probably get ost options from the start as some of you suggested, but after the two sales pitches for both motors, i'm kinda leanin toward the suzuki for the fuel injection advantage. But I'll be the first to admit, I'm just guessing. I can't wait to get started and get back to you guys with some real questions.

S

Steve

Suzuki-Johnson clone

I have the Johnson 50hp 4-stroke. I understand that it's the same as the Suzuki, except for the colors and badge. The fuel injection is great if you trailer your boat to different elevations. I go from Lake Tahoe to San Francisco Bay.

N

Norman

I went with the Suzuki/Johnson

The Evinrude, Suzuki, and Johnson are the same engine. I have the Johnson as well, as that is what they are calling them now (2003 model year). Just got my new 26X a month ago. I decided on that motor mostly because of the fuel injection and at the recomendation of most of the people on this and the other Mac disscussion boards. I am very happy with it. I like the white color and I get 21mph on a calm day with 3 people and supplys/equipment on board. Also, I've been following these Mac boards for 3 years now, and when ever people bring up engine problems, it's almost never the Suzuki/Johnson that they're talking about. In fact, off the top of my head, I don't recall anyone ever having a problem with this motor. And as Steve said, fuel injection is great for high elevations. I don't know much about the Honda, but I can definatly recommend the Johnson!

T

Tim Bastian

I have the Yamaha