Can a sailboat capsize?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 7, 2005
Hunter 41DS Brownsville, WA
We're new to sailing, and the first question we're often asked is, "Can a sailboat (like a Hunter 36) tip over?" I thought it couldn't because the more horizontal the sail gets, the less rotational moment there is and the keel will right the boat back, or at least to a point of equal moments. If the sail actually touches the water, then things probably change. So how should I answer the question. Is the answer that in theory, the sailboat can't tip over, but in practice it could in very high winds and rough seas?

J

Jared

Large Wave

I am by no means an expert on the subject, but it is definitely possible to capsize a 36 footer. From what I have read, you need something like a wave whose height is roughly half the length of your boat (18-20 ft) to do it if it hits the boat right. Of course that means you are in out in some rough stuff in a big body of water. If you are out in that kind of stuff, you probably want all the locking cockpit lockers, cabin sealed off, strong rigging, etc - all that nice bluewater boat stuff. The wind alone isn't going to tip the boat over like you mention, but large waves are another story.

Oct 7, 2005
Hunter 41DS Brownsville, WA
Confines of Puget Sound

So I suppose that, practically speaking, its not possible within the confines of an area like Puget Sound by Seattle. It sounds to me that you would only encounter 20 ft waves in the ocean environment.

Jul 17, 2005
Hunter 37.5 Bainbridge Island - West of Seattle
Don't worry while in Puget Sound