Bottom Paint and Anode Replecement

BritC

Sep 22, 2020
Hunter 49 Ventura
Newbie here,

Getting acquainted with my recent purchase of a 2009 Hunter 49. Am looking at getting my first bottom paint job done in the next 2-6 months. The bottom cleaning chap describes the bottom as "Bottom paint in POOR condition overall. Missing paint in several areas, and thin in others" - does this sound urgent enough to bring forward or requires more work than a professional paint job ? And is there a prime month of the year to do a this (So. CA location).

He also described the anodes "Maxprop anode, strut, and shaft anode FAIR condition – will need replacing next service" - familiar with the anodes, but not familiar with the strut ? How much should I budget for these items?

Thanks, C

Sep 25, 2008
Alden 50 Sarasota, Florida
the description he gave you regarding paint sounds like some nonsense generic rhetoric which likely describes every boat bottom a few months after being painted.

As to the strut, they usually last decades (unless there is some other issue) with or without an anode directly on it. If you put new anodes on the prop and shaft, the strut will be fine.

Feb 21, 2013
Hunter 46 Point Richmond, CA
Welcome to the forum and congratulations on your new Hunter 49!!