Best bottom paint

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Ron Koenig

I am currently in the process of stripping the bottom of my 1983 C-30 since it looks and feels like a lunar surface. I want to put on the best type of bottom paint for my sitiuation. (Which is mainly day crusing with a little racing thrown in.) What is your opinion on Ablative vs. Sloughing paints? How much speed can be gained by going to one of the new teflon type paints like VC17? We have warm fresh water up here and get a lot of slime build-up on the bottom. Whats the best paint to combat the slime? I have checked the archives but there is no information on the pros and cons of different paints or on how actual performance is affected by different paints. Your help in this matter is appreciated.

S

Stevec

On Long Island Sound, NY...

I've been using Ablative (ACP 50) for the last 5-6 years. I like ablative because it does wash/wear?? away with time/use, so there is minimal build up. One thin coat a year (May-October) is all I need. A LIGHT wet sand before application will do it. Oh yes.......it does keep barnacles off although nothing I've tried keeps those tiny shrimp off. Now if I can find a recipe.....

K

Keith

bottom paint