BENT PROP SHAFT

Nov 29, 2014
hunter 30-2 harrison
any help would be appreciated , on my last sail one of my lines went over board and was sucked up in the prop bending the shaft and breaking the guide , sure im not the first to have this happen, accidents do ,the trick is what to do next, to fix it and get it done quick and at a reasonable cost

Last edited:
Aug 1, 2011
Catalina 270 255 Wabamun. Welcome to the marina
Maybe. Probably.
I'd suspect that if it's the strut, it's not going to be easy, or cheap.

Dave Groshong

SBO Staff
Staff member
Jan 25, 2007
Catalina 22 Seattle
Here's a link to our page, for the strut, shaft/coupler and props, both 2 and 3 blade:
The hull number would be good to distinguish between the 2 struts that were used, that or if the boat is out of the water, clean up the strut and look for a casting stamp number

Nov 29, 2014
hunter 30-2 harrison
THANKS guys !!!! ive been sailing her for about 6 six years now , 1st time any thing like this has happened , hopefully the last !!!
cheers .
p.s. and yes i believe its the strut

Last edited:
Mar 15, 2010
Hunter 31 Watkins Glen, NY
I had this happen to me several years ago, better part of $5,000 to get it fixed. Had the local boat shop doing it. The more difficult part was removing and replacing a new strut. Shaft was basically off the shelf replacement.

Nov 29, 2014
hunter 30-2 harrison
I had this happen to me several years ago, better part of $5,000 to get it fixed. Had the local boat shop doing it. The more difficult part was removing and replacing a new strut. Shaft was basically off the shelf replacement.
THANKS MATE i suspected that was about what i was in for , next step is for me to go dive under to find out which of the 2 struts ill need and to cordinate getting her out, its tourist season hear so things are crazy busy for boat movers better to wait till things are quieter and ive got the parts in hand before i pull the trigger on this one

NYSail

Jan 6, 2006
Beneteau 423 Mt. Sinai, NY