Beneteau First 35s5 downwind

Jan 4, 2020
Beneteau First 35s5 Mentor-on-the-Lake
Hi - I am new to sailing and the 1993 Beneteau First 35s5. Upwind sailing came more naturally to me. When the mainsail and genoa are in balance on close haul or close reach, the boat is like a dream. When it is in perfect balance it sails itself.

Downwind is another story as i am still learning. Any suggestions on the position of the mainsail and foresails. I was on a broad reach point of sail with the main and genoa, but the main sail seemed to be covering the genoa, and the genoa was not getting fully pressurized or collapsing frequently at any minor heading change. I appreciate any advice around downwind sailing and optimal positions you have found between the mainsail and genoa? Do you keep the mainsail traveler centered in a close reach / beam reach and let the genoa out in a broad reach or run position? What has worked well for you with the First 35s5 particular fractional rig downwind as far as mainsail and genoa Point of sail and trim downwind? Appreciate any advice.

thanks
Tom

Last edited:
May 25, 2012
john alden caravelle 42 sturgeon bay, wis
buy don's book/ chart to get going on trimming your sails. good info

master that, wanna be a rockstar sailor, read this 20 times.
1594276507344.png

May 25, 2012
can't wait for the books. always set your jib first.

May 25, 2012
very simply, in a beat or a reach, the wind flows across the doing that 'lift thing'. in a run, the wind no longer flows past the sails, it just pushes them. so to get the most down wind you want to get the most projected sail area. in a run, set your boom perpendicular to the wind. if it blocks/ blankets the jib, go wing on wing.
running is slow, to go faster downwind, throw up the spinnaker.
"more sail"
1594278664090.png

May 17, 2004
Beneteau Oceanis 37 Havre de Grace