Batteries ????

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Robert

I recently bought a used Mac 26, and am trying to get the nav lights working. Well, in removing the two batteries, I found one deep cycle marine (trolling) battery and one that looks like an ordinary car battery hooked in series. What type of battery am I supposed to use? Which type is best, or does it matter? And finally, should different types be hooked in series like this?

T

Tim Bastian

Battery help

Robert, Let me qualify myself. I'm an aircraft mechanic not a boat mechanic so maybe someone with more boat experience would be a better source for information. That being said I'll give you my best opinion. It seems common to find one deep cycle and one standard battery in the same boat. However I would not think that they would be hooked in series. I have seen them hooked in parallel but the best solution is to have a switch panel where you can select your power source. That way if one battery goes dead you have a backup source of power. In series they would produce 24 volts. Is your system set up for 24 or 12 volts? If your system is set up for 24 volts it would explain why they are in series. If it's a 12 volt system and in series it may also explain why the lights don't work. Check the fuse panel for blown fuses and check the light bulbs for blown bulbs. If either or both have occurred it's likely that the batteries were wired incorrectly. Also check the voltage with a multi meter if you have one. See what kind of voltage you are really getting. If it is close to what your system is rated for then your probably ok. Are all of your lights inoperative? If not I would start looking at each circuit to see that there are no broken wires. Start at the ends of the wires first. If all of the connections to the switches and light fixtures are good, I would then check the wires for continuity. If the wires are good start tracing the voltage source from the battery out to find where it stops. If I can be of