Backstay Chainplate Replacement

Jun 29, 2020
O'Day 23 Larchmont
Hello,

New to the forum and appreciate all the great info here. I recently acquired a 1978 O'Day 23. The boat's mast had fallen down after the backstay chainplate failed. I am in the process of having the stays shortened, the mast cut down a bit, and replacing the chainplate in order to get sailing again. I ordered a new chainplate from DR Industries but am having difficulty removing the old chainplate. The screws are just spinning. Guessing there may be a backplate but have no idea how I could access? If unable to access, could I mount the new chainplate to the exterior using longer screws and bolt it through? Picture attached. Any help is much appreciated as I am new to sailing.

Thanks!
backstay.jpg

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
Welcome to the forum. Oh you are starting with the challenges. Good for you.

That looks like one of those lay on your back in the confined space under the cockpit and reach up with one arm to put a wrench on the nut located on the inside of the transom. Then pray that someone on the out side can hear your screams to turn the screw counter clockwise. They will eventually come out. Most likely they could have a bit of rust .

Or you can take the macho route. Get a grinder and grind off the heads of the screws so you can push the bolt body into the hull. This may end up with the bolt lying somewhere inside the boat, just out of reach. It will rattle about and make that satisfying moan of a lost bolt, as you tack the boat back and forth. But it won't hurt anything.

Good luck

Jun 29, 2020
O'Day 23 Larchmont
Thanks for the reply. I am OK with the bolt rattling around - just wondering how to attach the new plate. Would you drill through to the interior of the boat and attach a plate to hold the bolts?

Oct 22, 2014
Those are not screws they are bolts with a slotted screw head.