Anti fouling Hunter 240

Apr 20, 2021
Hunter Legend 240 Eastbourne
Hi, I am completely new to sailing and recently purchased a Hunter 240. On a post about the mast I went into questions about anti fouling and got some great feedback but also a comment about a potential issue with the barrier coat. So I thought I should do a specific post on the boat hull to get more feedback on what people think has previously been applied to it (anyone else's look like this?), if there are any concerns as I know literally nothing! How to remove what's on there to get it back to ideally gel coat so I can start a fresh and apply the right stuff to ensure its safe, efficient and looks nice.

Here are some pictures and what is written in the owners manual. I am concerned sanding will cause more problems?!

Thanks in advance.

IMG-20210421-WA0006.jpg
IMG-20210421-WA0007.jpg
IMG-20210421-WA0005.jpg

IMG-20210422-WA0013.jpg

Feb 21, 2013
Hunter 46 Point Richmond, CA
............How to remove what's on there to get it back to ideally gel coat so I can start a fresh and apply the right stuff to ensure its safe, efficient and looks nice.............
The forum has plenty of expereince and recommendations. You have some three options to remove the epoxy barrier coat as decscribed in the link to the artticle below: soda ash blasting, chemical stripping and scraping and sanding. Of course, wear protective equipment including head, body, hand, face, eye, nose and mouth protection during this process.

A Smorgasbord of Tools and Patience Are Required For the DIY Epoxy Barrier Coat Removal | Practical Sailor (practical-sailor.com)

Jan 4, 2006
Hunter 310 West Vancouver, B.C.