anchor light

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

steve

i recently purchased an anchor light with 15' of cord. That will only hang about 1/2 up my mast. may i mount it on a pole and place it towards the stern? how high does an anchor light have to be?

B

Bruce

I'm not an expert, but encountered something similar when I owned a Mac 22. I didn't want to break any regulations, so I did a little bit of research. From what I have read, height is not that important or a regulation. The same rules for anchor lights apply to motor and sail boats. The anchor light must be visible for 360 degrees. Typically, the anchor light is mounted on top of the mast because there are no obstructions. For my boat, I used a portable battery operated anchor light on a 3 foot pole mounted to the stern rail. I bought it as a kit (pole, bracket, and light) at Walmart. That was a quick cheap solution which allowed me to get out there and spend the night out on the lake. The only thing about it was I had to put it up when I needed it and take it down in the morning. Since that is a bit different than what you have to work with, I recommend splicing additional wire to what you have and mount it on top of the mast.

M

MArk

Anchorage Enlightening