Aeolus - the god of all winds

May 25, 2012
john alden caravelle 42 sturgeon bay, wis
Jon, I'd guess that you've read Frank Bethwaite's book, High Performance sailing, first edition 1994?, second edition 2010. Chapter 1 covers the topics raised so far in this thread.

He passed away in 2012, IIRC, a great loss

May 25, 2012
doc, as you may of noticed, i'm a huge fan of the bethwaite clan, and the books frank wrote. i'm a huge student of the wind. i'm hoping to learn more.
it's not just the first chapter doc, in his HPS book the first 12 chapters, 146 pages are about the wind. half the book really.
i've given copies to all that crew for me. i've worn out two copies from all my rereading. i have personal copies on the boats and in my houses. when racing or cruising the crew, team needs to use the same recipe i feel.

we can't see it, the wind but it's the most important component of these wind toys.

May 25, 2012
Since we actually live in the real world, not some test chamber, I believe the above statement has been made w/o including the effects of current on the action of the wind on moving water.
We often see exaggerated results on the surface that the wind speed alone cannot account for.
capta, my teacher is as real world as one can get. pilot, glider pilot, champion long distance glider pilot, champion RC glider distance flyer, job, flying boat from sydney to tahiti, meteorologist, olympic team meteorologist, champion sailboat racer all over the globe, olympic gold medals, class champion. capta, i respect you the most. i think more than most you would enjoy reading HPS by frank bethwaite. many others will too. and then, start studying his kids , jon

Jun 25, 2004
Corsair F24 Mk1 003 San Francisco Bay, CA
Since we actually live in the real world, not some test chamber, I believe the above statement has been made w/o including the effects of current on the action of the wind on moving water.