A bizzare incident

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Roland

happened this weekend while on a weekend cruise. The alternator brackets on my Yanmar YSB-12 broke at the motor. This is most distressing since that model is no longer manufactured and I will have to find a used part, meaning the whole front engine plate where the brackets are a part of the plate, if there is no other alternative. The motor itself is fine and runs great. My question to all is, do I have an alternative? Has anyone had this happen and how was it resolved? Any ideas, short of repowering, will be most appreciated. Thanks, Roland S/V Fraulein II

D

Don Bodemann

Wish I could help

Roland, I wish I could see your problem. I am a Certified Master auto Tech...(read: car mechanic) and I always love a good chalange. I'm sure a good mechanic could figure a way to fabricate bolt on brackets to hold the altenator. If you were any where near Northern New Jersey, I'd offer to drive over and have a look. I'm only familiar with the Yanmar 2QM20, so otherwise I can't be of much help. Good luck, I'll be watching to see if anyone else can help. Don

P

Pete

a good welder!

I don't have first has knowledge of your engine but before i would replace a entire front cover I would go talk to a good welder and get his thoughts! Good Luck!

J

Jerry

Pete's right

You need to look at the situation with a 'fresh approach' (ie- how could this @#$%^ thing be mounted differently !!). Given a welder, someone who knows how to use it and some stock almost anything can be fabricated, possibly even better than the original design. Am not familiar with that engine either but there have to be other bolts, holes etc. that could be tied into. I wouldn't just jump into ripping out the old engine just yet. Good Luck Jerry

B

Ben

New stuff then forge