91' mac26s new to site

Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 16, 2010
macgregor 26s lake wissota
Hi
I am new to the MacOwners web page and have owned a 91 26s for three years. I truly enjoy reading the post and recomendations of all. I have done a few mods including new bimini top re-wired and interior lights and new covers on all cusions. I have many questions but will start with a few here.
1. Any idea where to get a stern rail? 2. Where should I place a bilge pump? 3. Anyone ever used composting toilets and are they as good as the sale guy tried to tell me, no smel ease of use etc.?
This will be a good start and I hope to post a picture on the we soon. Thanks Capt. Bob SugBug

Oct 18, 2007
Macgregor 26S Lucama, NC
Stern Rail: bwyachts.com quoted $350 a few years ago; + freight from Washington.
Bilge pump: not a good place if you want to get all the water out with a single pump; can get most out with one under each settee; or put one on one side, then use a sponge to dry it. Sorry, have no knowledge of composting toilet; I use a porta-potty.
Welcome to the forum. -Paul

Aug 16, 2010
Thanks I will checkout bwyachts. I thought the lazurette was the place to put a pump I was really wrong. I saw the composting toilet at the Chicago sail show and it uses moss and separates the fluid from the solid waist, Im just not sure if there has been any experience with them besides the cost is about $700 or more. Maybe thats worth it as it seems to not have odors or problems with disposal.

Oct 18, 2007
Macgregor 26S Lucama, NC
Slugbug, in my 26S, the lazarette bilge is not connected to the bilge on each side of the ballast tank in the main cabin. I guess that means I would actually need 3 pumps if I didn't want to have to move one around!

Composting toilet: How big is it? What capacity? How much does it weigh? How do you empty it? Be sure you have the answers to these. You have a limited space, and you don't want too much weight. -Paul

Aug 16, 2010