3GM30 noise unknown?

Jun 17, 2012
C&C 35 MKIII Manitowoc, WI
I have a 1987 35.5’ C & C MKIII. It has a 3GM30 Under the hood. love this very resilient engine. It’s not the first one I have owned. My former Hunter 36 had the same engine. Ok so the C & C is new to us. The engine starts and purrs like a jewel. Except for at very low base idle there is a somewhat loud chattering noise heard and felt in the cockpit. The moment you raise the idle even a couple hundred rpm’s the noise disappears. I’m a former automotive technician turned automotive engineer retired. So I’ve always diagnosed and repaired my mechanical toys And still do. At first I thought it was valve lash but now I think not. It’s currently winter in the Great Lakes area where our boat is hibernating. I live 700 miles south. So I can’t get my hands on it until spring launch. And I have not put my stethoscope on it either-yet. So I’m thinking maybe there is some part of the assembly where the transmission connects to the engine that has a worn part or maybe an adjustment to lessen lash. If anyone has experienced this on a 3GM30 I would really appreciate your comments here.

Mar 6, 2008
Catalina 1999 C36 MKII #1787 Coyote Point Marina, CA.
I do not have that engine, but the noise you are describing comes from the transmission. If you have a Hurtz transmission it is normal. I have that transmission my Catalina 36.

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
I do not know the specifics of your engine & transmission. I do know I have heard a similar noise before my engine & transmission were rebuilt. In my case it was the transmission rebuild and the install of a new Damper Plate that resolved the issue.

The springs were old and sloppy. Here is an image of a damper plate.
1705488278582.jpeg

Jun 17, 2012
C&C 35 MKIII Manitowoc, WI