1996 HUNTER LEGEND 40.5 DEPTH AND TRANSDUCER ISSUES

Aug 30, 2020
HUNTER 40.5 LEGEND REGENT POINT, VA
Own a 1996 Hunter 40.5 with the original Autohelm ST50+ depth display and transducer. Display is mildly screen burned and it is flashing 0.0. I tried to cal. it to no avail.
Any suggesting as to where to start trouble shooting the issue or should I upgrade the entire depth system?
Any advise as to this would be greatly appreciated as I am new to the world of Sailing.
At your service,
David

Jun 4, 2004
Hunter 340 Forked River, NJ
I would start with cleaning and/or replacing the push-on wire connections/contacts on the back of the display units - they are small, perhaps 1/8 ". That is the low hanging fruit and then proceed with trouble-shooting or replacing the transducer.

Oct 26, 2010
Hunter 40.5 Beaufort, SC
@BLUEBURD . I have a spare ST50 (not sure if its a 50+ or not though) that I took off my 40.5 a few years ago. I'd be happy to send it to you to test if its the display or the tranducer. pm me and we can disuss.

• Helpful

Rick D

Jun 14, 2008
Hunter Legend 40.5 Shoreline Marina Long Beach CA
I think you are on the right track. Clean up all the connections first. I had a couple fail and wound up replacing all. I put in ST60+ but that was a while ago, ten years and there are two generations newer units now. Some individual displays may be redundant to those incorporated in various displays now, although it would be hard for me to give up individual units. But, maybe that's just me. That's way down the line, however. Try first cleaning up connections and then maybe a used head unit if that doesn't work. Before you chuck the whole system, do a lot of research and get opinions here (of which there will be lots!). Congratulations on your new boat. I have had ours for 21 years.

Aug 30, 2020
Many Thanks to all the great info and suggestions concerning the issue.
Special Thanks to Rick Stidger, Song of the Sea.
At your service,
David

Aug 30, 2020