192 Mast Step

Aug 26, 2020
oday 192 Three Islands Mallets Bay
Hello all and thanks for your time in advance. I am just getting back into sailing after 20 years with an Oday 192 I just picked up. It is pretty bare bones and I was hoping to get some tips to fashion some sort of mast stepping aid. I have no experience here as the Oday I owned 20 years ago was larger and stepped by the yard. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Happy spring!

Nov 9, 2012
Oday 192 Lake Nockamixon
Here's how I do mine. I use a custom made 8' long 2x4 with roller at the top that fits into the transom gudgeons. The idea is to get the mast up at roughly 45º. It's easy to lift from a horizontal transport position up onto this tall crutch from the cockpit. Then it's pretty easy to roll the mast from resting on a custom pulpit mount up the roller until I get the mast base at the step, pinned with 1 step pin. I then make sure that my asym spinnaker halyard which goes to swiveling cam cleat on the mast, is clipped to the stemhead fitting. This is my safety net, in that I can pull on this and hold the mast up to then go futz with forestay. I also put masking tape over the upper and lower shroud turnbuckles so they are standing up in more or less final position. Do similar with the triangle plate on the backstay, so that this does not get itself kinked. Then I stand ON the cabin top, facing aft, straddling the mast. I can bend knees and cradle the mast with my arms straight, and begin to lift, and walk backwards. I can see shrouds and backstay to know if anything is mis-aligned or kinked. It's not such a bad lift, because the mast is almost 1/2 way up to start. Once up, it's easy to hold mast with left hand against swept uppers and backstay, and reach down with my right hand to pull the spin halyard tight and cleat it off in the cam cleat. Now the mast is standing full up, and I can go grab the forestay, pin it, tighten the turnbuckle.