Winterizing Fresh Water Accumulator?

jviss

Feb 5, 2004
Tartan 3800 20 Westport, MA
This is my first time winterizing a fresh water system that has an accumulator. It looks just like the expansion tank in your home, hot water heating system, an dis close to the water heater and pump.

I will bypass the water heater and drain it. What should I do about the accumulator?

Thanks,

jv

May 17, 2004
Beneteau Oceanis 37 Havre de Grace
If you’re running antifreeze through the rest of the cold water system then it will be taken care of along with that, as long as it’s not bypassed. The amount of antifreeze it takes to fill the accumulator should be pretty small. In the spring you may want to check the air pressure in the accumulator and add any of you need to, in case it’s seeped out.

Oct 9, 2008
Bristol 29.9 Dana Point
Drain in too.
Just remove one of the hoses, and leave it off. Also remove the top cap.

I stopped using anti-freeze after I discovered that it was a huge amount easier to just drain the system. This was while I was still winterizing, of course. :) Am in So Cal now.

Anyway, just disconnect the hot and cold lines at their lowest point, open all the faucets, and let it drain. Leave them disconnected and faucets open.
Drain heater as you said. Also drain the water pump. I did this by just removing both lines and turning the pump on to let it spit out whatever was in there.
Some blow air through the lines but I think that's overkill.
Now in the spring all you have to do is reconnect, put water in the tanks and prime the pump. No gallons of antifreeze to flush out.
Of course the motor, or raw water side of it, and head are different, with unpliable surfaces that can trap water and crack. Antifreeze there.

Jun 6, 2006
currently boatless wishing Harrington Harbor North, MD