Wetsanding

Dec 26, 2016
Catalina 22 Boise, idaho
We bought our first boat last year, an amazing 1970. We thought she needed to be repainted until I started reading about removing oxidation and restoring gel coat (we are total novices and are learning as we go). Our boat is heavily oxidized (I think??) and we are following suggested steps of wetsanding (600-1500 grit), compounding, polishing, etc. the results are already AMAZING. Here is my question: how do we know how much wetsanding to do? I keep reading things like "don't oversand or you might go through the gel coat".

How much is too much? If the runoff is still very very milky white are we still just removing oxidation?

May 20, 2016
Catalina 36 MK1 94 Everett, WA
It will always be white. You've gone too far whe the boat color changes. 600 is very aggressive I started with 800 and only in the worst spots. Then 1000 all over ( be sure and get the 800 grit scratches).

Dec 26, 2016
Catalina 22 Boise, idaho
Thanks Leslie! I think my whole boat is one big "worst spot". It is VERY thick chalky all over. I guess I'm just trying to understand how to know when we've removed the oxidation vs damaging the gel coat. I hope it doesn't seem like a stupid question.

Dec 27, 2012
Precision Precision 28 St Augustine
Gelcoat is several times thicker than an automotive finish. I've wetsanded many boats and never sanded through the gelcoat. Lots of work but worth the reward.

Nov 19, 2008
Catalina C-22 MK-II Parrish, FL
I like the Poli-Glow system. Minimal impact to the gelcoat with amazing results that will last a year or longer. Take a look at their website, it's not snake oil.

Don

Feb 11, 2015
Catalina 22 Lake Jacomo