water pump short cycling

Nov 26, 2008
Endeavour 42 Cruisin
I have a Jabsco fresh water demand pump. Recently, after several years of use, it has been short cycling, running for less than a second very frequently. So far I have not found any leaks in the system, that still might be the problem but I am wondering if it is actually a pump issue.

Nov 26, 2008
Endeavour 42 Cruisin
suction side? I thought it only cycled when it detected a drop in pressure on its output side?

Oct 24, 2010
Hunter 30 Everett, WA
Most likely the pump has an internal leak. To test this, disconnect the output hose and plug the line coming from the pump. If the pump still cycles, the issue is internal. If it's possible to open it up and clean the check valve, that may do it.

Ken

Oct 1, 2007
Boston Whaler Super Sport Pt. Judith
If it pulls air in on the suction side the pressure will drop on the output side, resulting in the pump cycling. Check in the filter for air bubbles.

WayneH

Jan 22, 2008
Tartan 37 287 Pensacola, FL
I think there are two reasons for short cycling. You have probably already checked for leaks at fittings and faucets. But sometimes the internal check valve in the pump itself goes south. And leaks water back to the tank. Dammed hard to troubleshoot. Not sure about the Jabsco but some pumps can be tore down and all the moving parts wiped with a paper towel and re-assembled. Temporary fix at best.

Sep 15, 2016
Catalina 22 Minnesota
Had one with a bad pressure switch on a Catalina 30 once. Just had to replace the switch.

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
The cycling happens because the pressure in the pump drops, the pump increases the pressure, the pressure drops, repeat ad nauseam.

It could be a slow drip in a faucet. Could be a slightly loose hose connection. If you have an accumulator tank, the tank could be losing pressure.