Universal M25XP problem.

May 5, 2017
Catalina C36 mkII PA
Hello all members and Catalina owners. I just became a proud owner of my first C30 and I'm quite new to the engine that is installed on this boat. It's an older model from 1987. It was never used extensively as far as I was told and engine hours were not excessive. She has a Universal M25XP. She was an a way from western Florida to Dry Tortuga National Park in Key West. Due to the weather conditions we had to use engine for about 15-20 hours. At some point the engine got hot (200-220 deg) and was shut down. Hard to tell how long it was running at this temperature as a guy at the helm didn't check the temperature gage. It was the smell of overheated engine that caught our attention. During the first investigation we noticed that there was no water coming from the stern so definitely raw water system problem was causing overheating. Raw water pump was checked, impeller checked - all good. We had no time to check the heat exchanger where I suspect is the problem - please correct me at anytime if my conclusions are wrong. Right now she is back to the dock in Florida and I had to go back to Canada. What I was able to check before leaving was exhaust pipe all the way from the stern to the wet muffler - no blockage, no obstructions. There is no water on the oil dipstick. What worries me is some traces of oil in the coolant overflow container. It is possible to start the engine but exhaust fumes are coming from air intake filter.
I'd like to hear from owners experience what I can expect when repair time comes.
Is it just a head gasket or should I be prepared for worse? I want to start gathering parts required for repair before I go back to the dock for repair. Thank so much for any input and advice.

pzmaria

May 24, 2004
CC 30 South Florida