Structural?

Oct 19, 2017
O'Day 19 Littleton, NH
Without knowing, it sure looks like a stringer. The profile shape is odd. Is there anything like a rubrail on the outside? Maybe it is a nailer for attaching a rail or plate to the outside surface.
It looks like it is located in an out of the way spot. Is it in the way of something you want to put there?

-Will (Dragonfly)

Apr 27, 2010
Hunter 23 Lake Wallenpaupack
I'm no engineer, but the white bulkhead by the v berth is probably structural. The horizontal upper wood strip is for the storage shelf and I would guess not structural. The lower strip looks like it is where you removed the top of the settee base that is the cover for the storage bins. I would guess that the settee structure, specifically including the bulkheads that support the top and the vertical "wall" do add some structure.

SG

Feb 11, 2017
J/Boat J/160 Annapolis
Are you going to be "returning" the rib back after the rebuilding process? Are you sailing the boat while doing these repairs?

I doubt (but am not sure) whether the horizontal rib is structural; however you need a way to secure the interior bunk and back up there. If it's simply glued to the hull, then I'd remove it carefully ; and, then replace it as it used to be.

Jan 22, 2008
Beneteau 323 Annapolis MD
... I would like to move the shelf around the cabin. Is this piece structural?
My 2006 B32 has the same "shelf" that runs about the whole length of the boat. In the vee and the quarterberth, it is a shelf with wood and a lip. In the salon, it supports the seat backs. In the nav and galley, it supports the cabinets. It probably helps the hull keep its intended shape until they attach the deck piece. As Beneteau did, put a wooden shelf on it and make it functional.

Apr 27, 2010