Seasonal Maintenance - Learning

Jun 2, 2014
Catalina 30 mkII - 1987 Alamitos Bay Marina, LB, CA
Hey all, meant to do this in spring, but better later then too late, this was my first seasonal maintenance since buying the boat a year ago. I am a newbie at diesel boat engines, and didn't want to figure it out completely on my own, so I brought a diesel mechanic friend into the picture. Also teamed up with another member here, CalTom so we could do our boats together. It was interesting to see the differences between our two boats. Tom has the M25, and I have the M25XP. We have different fuel filter setups, and had to bleed Tom's fuel lines while mine has the return line and auto-bleeds itself by just turning on the fuel pump. The oil was straight forward, but not sure of the advantage of the drain plug hose that I have installed vs just sucking the oil from the dip tube. Is it just that I'm likely to get a bit more oil sucked out? But that all went fine and think that we both can handle that on our own from now on. The trouble we had most was with flushing my coolant out. My coolant desperately needed changing. We used the nipple valve (technical name, right?) on the starboard side of the engine, connected a hose and used a hand pump. We only got about a gallon out of it, but we assumed there's got to be more coolant since there's a water heater too. We connected the pump to one of the water heater hoses an sucked out what we could from there, maybe another pint or so. Reconnected everything and tried refilling it. We spent a lot of time running the motor trying to get it burp, letting it cool off, then repeating the process. It took many repeats and over an hour to see any change in cooling. We seemed to think there's got to be a much better process than almost overheating your motor to get rid of airlock. In the end, it finally got the air out and all of a sudden the engine cooled itself rapidly and we let it run for a while and kept opening the butterfly valve to