Replacing part of hull

Mar 28, 2018
Mcgregor 25 Austin, TX
So I purchased a '77 Mac 25 on Monday (April 9th.) The hull is punked under the icebox and the head. I lifted it off the trailer and when the punking didn't pop out I realized I will need to cut out about 6 sf of hull and replace it. I've a lot of FG experience but wonder if I need to do anything special as this replaced section will bear weight on the trailer bunks.

Mar 13, 2011
Islander Freeport 41 Longmont
First off, give it a co,upkeep of days in the warm sun. It may pop out on its own you also should look at how to relieve the pressure in the future. Generally the boat should be evenly balanced on the bunks and sitting on the keel. These pressure points can "oil can" in but usually pop out after a few days.

Trying to replace a major section of hull could be trouble without the original mold. It will be very hard to get an exact match to the opposite side.

Good luck

Jun 3, 2004
Macgregor 25 So. Cal.
Be sure to lower the keel into its resting place on the trailer to take the 700 pounds off the hull.

Mar 28, 2018
Mcgregor 25 Austin, TX
Timebandit, we did lower the keel and will at some point remove it to clean it and repaint it. I have a plan with some heavy floor jacks and jigs to support the keel from flopping over.

Mar 28, 2018
Mcgregor 25 Austin, TX
First off, give it a co,upkeep of days in the warm sun. It may pop out on its own you also should look at how to relieve the pressure in the future. Generally the boat should be evenly balanced on the bunks and sitting on the keel. These pressure points can "oil can" in but usually pop out after a few days.

Trying to replace a major section of hull could be trouble without the original mold. It will be very hard to get an exact match to the opposite side.

Good luck