O'Day 25 for a novice sailor?

robk27

May 29, 2018
O'Day 25 Madison
Hoping to get some advice from some experienced Sailers.

I’ve found a 1979 O’Day 25 that is nearby and is in pretty good condition considering its age. I’ve consumed books and forums in terms of learning what to look for when inspecting the boat, looking for any leaks, water damage or compromises to the hardware, keel and hull. The boat looks very solid except for a few drip leaks from a couple portlights. The bulkheads and chainplates are solid, no water damage that I can see. The owner is also offering to transport, rig and help me sail her the first few times.

The issue isn’t necessarily the boat, but the fact that I have limited sailing experience. I’ve only been sailing a year, mostly on a 10’ Tech Dinghy along with a few introductory keelboat lessons through the Hoofers Sailing Club in Madison.

This is intended to be a family day-sailer and weekend boat on a big inland lake. I’m trying to get in as many lessons as I can, but this has been slow due to limited class availability. I do plan to take the ASA 101 course later in the summer.

I’m cautious and nervous about biting more than I can chew, and I want to make this a safe and enjoyable experience for my family. Should I wait to get in more sailing experience and complete the ASA course this season, or is purchasing the O’Day now a good way to really learn to sail? Life is passing us by and I’m hoping to build some memories out in the water before my son gets to his teenage years. I have found available mooring spaces this season if I decide to move forward.

Any advice from seasoned sailors and O’day owners if most appreciated.

Cheers to you all, and thanks!

Oct 31, 2012
Hunter 2008 H25 Lake Wabamun