Marelon Ball Valve Seacocks

Ward H

Nov 7, 2011
Catalina 30 Mk II Barnegat, NJ
The marelon ball valve seacocks on my 93 C30 are very stiff to operate so I plan to change them out this winter.
They appear to be Forespar Marelon MF850 Threaded Ball Valve. https://www.defender.com/product.jsp?path=-1&id=4210227

Catalina Direct appears to be selling the Forespar Marelon Series 93 ball valves for the C30.
https://www.defender.com/product3.jsp?path=-1|51|2234261|2234264&id=199316

Are the series 93 a better seacock? They are about $35 more than the MF850.

Is it best to change out the thru hull while changing the seacocks?

CarlN

Jan 4, 2009
Ketch 55 Bristol, RI
Yes, the Series 93 (also sometimes called OEM) are an entirely different design and a great seacock. The ones you currently have get stiff and eventually the handle breaks off. I don't understand why Forespar keeps marketing them as it does their reputation no favors. I've been using the Series 93 for over 10 years with no problems or complaints. I exercise the ones that don't get closed regularly twice a year. They haven't needed any lubrication. If you currently have some 3/4" seacocks, consider upsizing those to 1" and using an adapter to connect the 3/4" hose. The water flow through these seacocks is a little less than the same diameter bronze because the tailpipe plastic is so thick. Here's
MainSail testing the Series 93 to the ABYC standard for side loading.

May 20, 2016
Catalina 36 MK1 94 Everett, WA
Ward before you change them out Forespar makes two types of lube specifically for those valves, might save a bunch of work and $$$.

Feb 6, 1998
Canadian Sailcraft 36T Casco Bay, ME
The marelon ball valve seacocks on my 93 C30 are very stiff to operate so I plan to change them out this winter.
They appear to be Forespar Marelon MF850 Threaded Ball Valve. https://www.defender.com/product.jsp?path=-1&id=4210227