Low water pressure? Beneteau 40

Mar 7, 2018
Beneteau 40 Coyote Point Marina SFO
Hi y’all. I’m new to the big boat world so I’m all ears for some advice. Why would my water pressure be extremely weak at both the galley and head faucet and the shower? The pump seems to pressurize the lines but not enough?? Is there a pressure valve? It used to work fine a few months ago. Thank y

Feb 20, 2011
Island Packet 35 Tucson, AZ/San Carlos, MX
Have you removed the aerators/shower head to check for debris?

Mar 7, 2018
No. I would if I knew what they were. I really could use a manual for these sort of things

Jan 22, 2008
Beneteau 323 Annapolis MD
There is probably a water filter on the water pump input. Unscrew it to clean the gook out of it. Make sure to put the O ring back on!

ToddS

Sep 11, 2017
Beneteau 373 Cape Cod
If everywhere you can get water (galley, head, deck shower? etc) all went weak simultaneously... it's likely the filter that's generally right "before" the pump... rinse the screen, and careful with the o-ring as stated above. If that's clean, maybe the vent(s). Do you have more than one water tank, and if so, is one weaker/stronger than the other... If only one of multiple tanks is slow, its less likely the filter, and more likely the vent, since each tank has its own vent, but generally only one filter which would impact all tanks equally. If one or two faucets are slow, but another is still strong, it is more likely the faucet head aerators. If all of those suggestions fail, and you're still low on pressure, it could be the impeller in the pump itself... the little plastic blades in there can get damaged/worn and lose their effectiveness at pushing water. I've never had this problem myself, but I've heard winterizing antifreeze can harm the impeller blades.

pateco

Aug 12, 2014
Hunter 31 (1983) Pompano Beach FL