Jib Furler help - Please!

Sep 24, 2016
Hunter Cherubini 30 Cayuga Lake
Me again!
I am faced with a jib furler issue on my 1980 Hunter Cherubini 30. I understand that a furling system requires a head swivel, as to not allow the halyard to turn with the foil (correct?). Most I have seen look like the ones in the diagram below.

Mine, however, appears to have a cable (not the forestay ) running through the foil, up to a block at the top, then down the mast (not quite down to the deck when fully pulled down. I don't have a picture as I can't get up to the top of the mast (needless to say if I could, I would figure it out).

The cable has a slug that pulls the sail slug that the jib head attaches to, up the foil. My assumption is that this cable is actually used to raise the jib, and then secures at the bottom of the mast acting as a halyard. I figure that the foil is able to spin freely of the cable, thus preventing the cable from wrapping.

I am an Engineer, and often not very articulate. When explaining this to my wife and marina neighbors, they all looked at me as if I had 3 heads! LoL. o_O

Any advice?

Apr 27, 2010
Hunter 23 Lake Wallenpaupack
I don't have one, but I suspect you have a CDI furler, which has an internal halyard, that is used to hoist the jib. Don't take my word for it, as I have a Harken with traditional swivel at top. But do a web search for CDI furler, and if it looks like yours, I imagine you can download a manual or at least photos of the setup.

May 24, 2004
CC 30 South Florida