Hunter 24 how much sail in 10 knots +?

ronkS2

Aug 22, 2017
Hunter 240 South Florida
I am new to the Hunter swing keel and ballast, so forgive me if this seems from left field. Most of my boats have been lead filled fin keel and spade rudder. If i was in heavy wind or just out for a slow sail in lighter wind i would just run my Jib. It would give me reasonable speed and was quite manageable in tacking and responded well to the rudder. In heavier wind and sometimes on the lighter wind the only thing the main seemed to do was make the boat heel more and added little to the speed.
In 10 knots plus can i get away with just the jib and will the boat respond well to input from the tiller and have enough power to pull me through a tack? I am going to be with wife and my nine year old daughter who is new to sailing. I also have no problem dropping all the sails and motoring back in if that makes for the most comfortable and scare free ride for my little one.
Thanks again,
Ron

Jun 2, 2004
Hunter 23.5 Calgary, Canada
Being a fractional rig, in heavier wind try main only, or even reefed main only, not jib only. I do this with my H23.5 which I think has less ballast and more sail area compared to the newer H240.

May 6, 2004
- - Potomac
240 sailor here. Rick is right, jib only is a non-starter in any conditions. She'll sail nicely under full canvass up to about 15 kts. (With a 110 jib). After that, reef.

Enjoy the new boat.

Jun 8, 2004
-na -NA Anywhere USA
As a former dealer I always suggested on this boat no more than 12-14 degree heel for the 240 or any of the water ballast as it sails faster flatter with more of a flat hull vs. the traditional v style hull.

Oct 31, 2012
Hunter 2008 H25 Lake Wabamun
Dave is right on (as usual). I try to limit my 2008 H25 to 15 degrees and fly the main only if the wind is too strong. The rudder feel will tell you it you are over powered even before the crew complains.

Oct 3, 2006
Hunter 23 Philadelphia