How to use an alcohol stove

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Chip Chalker

I am new to sailing and do not know how to fill the alcohol stove on my O'Day 272. It appears the only way to fill it is through the burners. I don't know how to go about lighting it once it is filled. This is my first experience with an alcohol stove. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Chip

Dec 2, 1999
Hunter Vision-36 Rio Vista, CA.
Your guidance will help

Chip: We need to know what type of stove you are dealing with. If it is an Origo, then you lift the top and remove the canisters. It is usually not a good idea to fill a stove while it is in place and especially while it is hot. Alcohol will ignite at a very low temperature so be very careful.

S

Scott Mathey

Alchol Burner

As Steve said, there must be a way to remove the canister that holds the alchol, to fill it. fill the canister aprox 1/2 full of "denatured alchol" and dry off any spillage on the outside of tank and then replace back in the housing. On mine there is a lever to control the heat output, simply open it all the way and I have to use a long distance lighter like the kind to light a barbaque or a kitchen match with a pair of pliers to get the flame down in far enough to light the top of the alchol container. After that adjust the heat by the size of the opening over the top of the alchol tank. I hope this helps.

G

Gord May

'Shipmate' Alcohal Stove Instructions