Battery Question...

Apr 8, 2016
Beneteau 361 Clipper Garrucha, Spain
Hi Friends,
Would appreciate if you guys could take a look at the attached photo of my AGM battery bank wired in parallel. I am a newbie in regards to boat electrics and have a lot to learn but it seems to me the installer of these batteries has made a mistake. According to Nigel Calder the positive and negatives going to the boats circuits should be taken from opposing ends of the bank to ensure the batteries are charged and discharged equally, this does not seem to be the case here. Has it been done this way due to some quirky way Beneteau wire their boats, as suggested by another Beneteau owner? Is there any reason I can't just correct the error, assuming there is one? Thanks in advance.
IMG-0020.JPG

Nov 6, 2006
Hunter 34 Mandeville Louisiana
Looks like you can take the positive cable that goes to the boat and move it to the positive post on the bottom left, the batteries would be wired correc tly to balance things electrically. It looks like there is enough slack in the cable to do it.. leave the other stuff as-is.

Jan 12, 2016
Beneteau 311 Seattle, WA
Kloudie's right. But you may want to consider marking the + in RED!!!
Excellent suggestion. I had a similar setup on my boat and immediately marked them all. Would really suck to have to take one of those out, disconnect the cables, and then not know what is what...

Aug 22, 2017
Hunter 26.5 West Palm Beach
Yea... drawing both the positive & negative off the same side of the battery bank is not the absolute best way to run the cables, but it's a small issue. Swap the one cable over to the other side of the bank when you get around to it. I wouldn't loose any sleep over not getting to it promptly.

I would be more worried about the color coding. I would invest in some red shrink tube.

Edit: