Adding lower Jib Cars on a Oceanis 351

Jeramy

Aug 19, 2018
Beneteau 351 Nanaimo
Hi there, I recently purchased a 94 Oceanis 351, I have been enjoying it both for cruising with the family and sailing around local waters, I have had some more experienced sailors on to help me gain knowledge and skill (as would still consider myself more or less a beginner sailor) and more than one has commented on the Jib car location.

This boat has the jib cars up on the cabin roof and when trimming the headsail while sailing close-hauled you cant quite sheet the sail in enough because the rigging interferes with the sail as you tighten the sheet.
I was wondering if adding a second set of cars near the toe rail, and possibly aft of the existing cars would make much difference performance wise, and wondering if anyone has done it on this or similar boat.

I have no plans to race this boat but the current locations seem poor.

Any advice is much appreciated

Jeramy

Joe

Jun 1, 2004
Catalina 27 Mission Bay, San Diego
It is quite common for sailboats to have more than one jib car track to change the sail's sheeting angle. That's what will happen when you put down an outside track.... often called the "genoa track".... the sail's angle with the centerline of the boat and the stemhead will be opened.... and this can be a good thing for certain points of sail.

Have you tried running the sheets "inside" the shrouds for close hauling.... and shifting them outside for reaching? Try that some time... it means you may have to go forward... do it while the sail is on the other tack... leave both in and out sheets attached... see if you're able to point higher.

The point is, there is no reason not to experiment. You can save the roof top leads for pointing with the sheets inside the rigging. Attach a block to the toe rail, or rig up what's called a "barber hauler" (google it) before going to the expense of installing a new track and cars....

Jeramy

Aug 19, 2018
Beneteau 351 Nanaimo