Rescued 1978 Hunter 25' Sailboat- Seeking Advice on Restoring and Creative Uses

Aug 14, 2018
Hunter 25 Cape Cod
Hello! We rescued this 40 year old beauty from the wrecking ball and hope to bring her back to life for our children and friends to enjoy in our backyard as a "Boathouse Bunkie". We would love advice on how to repurpose boat/best utilize space and refinish the exterior and interior from head to toe. Cleaning, refinishing wood, brass fixtures, outside rails, deck etc. She's in great shape but needs TLC and we want to do it right and be creative. We are complete beginners but are excited to shine her up and share this gorgeous vessel, albeit on land, with all. All ideas welcome and TIA!

Attachments

Last edited:
May 27, 2004
Hunter 30_74-83 Ponce Inlet FL
I commend your spirit of adventure and your idea for a play area for your kids.
But, let me suggest you use the "quick search" feature at the top of this page.
Put in a specific topic like 'refinishing teak handrails' or 'painting the hull'.
You will only get a few dozen or so threads to read on each subject.

Aug 14, 2018
Hunter 25 Cape Cod
Thanks very much ggrizzard! I am new to this forum as well so your advice is very helpful! Also looking for creative/efficient ways to use the space...for instance, we don't need the toilet so may turn into closet. Our kids are in their late teens so will be used as hanging out/sleeping quarters primarily for them and our friends.

Nov 8, 2010
Beneteau First 36.7 & 260 Minneapolis MN & Bayfield WI
Specific to your plan:
Unbolt (or cut off) the keel, and remove the rudder.
Dig a trench so the boat sits ground level on her waterline.
If you have any of the mast, rig a 8-10 foot section and attach the shrouds. It will look much more like a sailboat that way.

Everything else is old-boat restoration and has been discussed a million times here. Search is your friend.

Nov 8, 2010