New Electronics - Is this about right?

Sep 29, 2008
Catalina 310 #185 Quantico
I have a friend who had a great time at the Annapolis boat show and bought new radar, chart plotter, autopilot and all new instruments (wind, depth and speed). He called me up and told me what he did, asked for help and today we got together and looked it over. The radar and chart plotter combo is super sweet as the radar returns are superimposed on the chart. He is going to use traditional wind, speed and depth instruments along with the autopilot and the chart plotter in a single enclosure on the helm. I am a bit new to the nmea2000/SeatalkNG, but it seems pretty sweet. Have I about got it? Is there a better way?
The wind, speed and depth instruments are compatible with his old stuff so for the moment we may just leave the new ones in place and just use the new instruments (also means we do not have to run new wires). Next time we meet up will be at his boat to verify the existing wires and connections and start removing stuff like the burned out dedicated radar station and Chartplotter down below as well as looking for where to put the new autopilot computer (his old one was in the control head). Anything I have missed?
1704680786518.png

1704681325284.png

Jun 17, 2022
Hunter 380 Comox BC
Does he still have a SeaTalk 1 network? if so, and if the ST1 network is connected to the ST NG network, he needs to ensure there is only one power source, ideally located in the middle of the loads. See the ST NG reference above for calculating the LEN (ie: power consumption).

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
:plus: @marcham

The SeatalkNG manual will explain load balance. Each power load (ie display, wire) has a Raymarine load valve. You want to put the network power in the middle of the loads.

Oct 26, 2008
Catalina 320 Barnegat, NJ