Mills Trophy Race, Lake Erie

Jul 5, 2005
Beneteau 361 Sandusky Harbor Marina
I'll be crewing on a J/92 in this Friday night's/Saturday morning's Mills Trophy Race. Our start is at 5:20 pm on Friday, and is expected to finish up between 4 and 6 am on Saturday at Put-in-Bay. I'm super excited about this, but nervous too as I'm not really sure what to expect. It's my first time with a "real" race on Lake Erie since I did Cleveland Race Week almost 20 years ago, and by far my longest race (52 nm, doing the Governor's Cup Course).

I'm a bit nervous because it's a night race, and not sure how I'll hold up, knowing that sleep will pretty much be impossible. I'm hoping I don't "bonk," I think the term is. I'll be up 24 straight hours or more. I'm taking some Red Bulls to help combat this.

Any insight? Advice? :)

Nov 8, 2010
Beneteau First 36.7 & 260 Minneapolis MN & Bayfield WI
Should be a great time, the 92 is a fun boat. First, how many crew? The 92 only needs either 2 or 3 active sailors between maneuvers, so if there is 4+ on board it should be planned that 1) people rotate positions, and that some can go down and snooze for a nap on the high side when needed and it makes sense. Those steps really do refresh you. A single night race is hard because there is no watch system set up. But you DO have to account for people's need to shut down for bit.

Hopefully the boat has lee-cloths set up on the settees. That (high side) is the best place for crew weight when sleeping..
Stay warm, and stay on top of getting cold. Its is much easier to stay warm than get warm.
Hopefully you have real sailing boots, not the rubber jobs.

If I read the NOR right, the course features a long ESE leg after the first turning mark. The breeze is forecast to be ENE, so them might be a long leg jib-reaching or closehauled. Good time to get some rest!

Jul 5, 2005