Steam out the exhaust? 87 mkII Universal MX25XP

Jun 2, 2014
Catalina 30 mkII - 1987 Alamitos Bay Marina, LB, CA
I'm new to this boat, but yesterday we took it out and at the end of the day on our way back when we ran the engine, it was steaming out the back.

Everything else otherwise seemed normal. Is steam normal?

Oct 5, 2008
catalina 30mkii alameda ca
We went thru that last year. Could be several things, but most likely the heat exchanger is beginning to become plugged. You'll begin to see less water coming out the exhaust and the engine temp gauge will start running hotter. Simple fix, we had the exchanger boiled out at a radiator shop. Engine now runs cool and no steam. But as long as your down there start fresh with a new impeller also. One less thing to check in the process of elimination. Check the Catalina 34 site for tons of information on how to's and info.

Jun 2, 2014
I kept my eye on the temp guage, and it was pretty consistent.
If I ran it close to 2KRPM, it would sit at about 175 degrees.
If I ran it 1200 RPM it would stay about 160 degrees.

Part of it is that I don't know yet what is normal and I don't have a mechanic yet to talk to.

It wasn't a ton of steam, but it was constant. Water was still coming out too.

Apr 1, 2012
Pearson 424 Charleston, SC
I don't normally see steam coming out of mine. On the few occasions that mine has started to steam and engine temps climb to 180, I shut the engine down and check the intake filter right above the seacock. That gets filled with weeds and restricts the flow. To empty it, first shut off the seacock, unscrew the filter, remove the screen and dump it out, I then like to open the seacock to make sure I'm getting good flow. On a couple of occasions I've had to remove the filter housing, open the seacock and push a piece of wire down and out the bottom of the boat to clear lodged seaweed. It's possible to suck other debris up there as well, like plastic bags.