Mosquitoes and Other bugs

May 19, 2024
Catalina 30 MKII Chicago
I am new to the sailing scene and just recently (1 month ago) purchased a 1989 Catalina 30. I am having a great time getting familiar with it but one thing that I am wondering is if there is an ideal way to repel mosquitoes and other bugs? Im usually away during the weekdays and when I come back on the weekend there are always what seems to be new cobwebs and fly nests etc especially near the port windows, helm, etc. Just wondering if there is something that I can do to repel them for the season while it is moored. Thank you, Paul.

jssailem

SBO Weather and Forecasting Forum Jim & John
Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
Welcome Paul, to SBO forums. Congratulations on your new to you boat.

One solution would be to move your boat to the PacificNW. We are generally bug free. No “No See’ems” none to few mosquitoes :confused:and spiders have not been an issue.

I would chat with local boaters in the marina to se what they of to limit bugs on their boats.

May 19, 2024
Catalina 30 MKII Chicago

One solution would be to move your boat to the PacificNW. We are generally bug free. No “No See’ems” none to few mosquitoes :confused:and spiders have not been an issue.

I would chat with local boaters in the marina to se what they of to limit bugs on their boats.
I will try asking around, thank you :)

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
Spiders are a fact of life in a freshwater marina. After 40 years of Great Lakes boating and a decade living on a lake shore, it is most important to not fall behind in spider control. Start spider control before launch and don't let them get a toe hold. Once the first generation lays eggs, the population will explode.