Marina's seem to hate sailboats

Apr 30, 2015
Macgregor 22 Greenwood Lake
I am new to sailing but not to boating. I purchased a 22’ Mac with plans on “trailer sailing”. I live in Northern NJ and figured Greenwood Lake would be good for learning. This was until I found out NO marina’s will let me launch a sailboat. Some say it is because of insurance issues and other say it is because it takes too long to setup the boat. I convinced one marina to let me do it once so far but they made me drop the mast while in the water.
Is this normal? Do people just launch under power and rig the boat on water? That seems unsafe to me.
Other options close to me are the Hudson River in NY or Lake Walenpaupack in PA if anyone has experience trailer sailing on them.
Thanks!

Sep 25, 2008
Alden 50 Sarasota, Florida
I wouldn't say it's marinas who dislike sailboats but I can see the problem with those who take a long time to rig a boat while we wait to launch our trailer powerboat. It seems subjectively that for every guy occupying the ramp while rigging, three power boats could launch in that same time span.

Mar 20, 2012
Cal 34-III, MacGregor 25 Salem, Oregon
Thats pretty much it... when the people at the powerboat marinas hear sailboat, they think of keels rudders and masts, and as they dont understand them, they arent willing to launch them...

It dont matter in some places that you tell them its a swing keel or the mast in stowed... as we have found out in lake tahoe.

But rigging a small boat on the water is not unsafe if you are prepared for it, unless you are butterfingered and prone to dropping things, and then it gets expensive.

We stood the mast in our mac25 while in lake tahoe in 12kts of wind about 1/2 mile from shore, with the motor and autopilot pointing us directly into the waves.... and when we stowed it it was blowing 6-8 and we were again on the motor running with the wind about 5 miles from shore... its all about knowing the boat and being prepared for the task.