Wood species

Feb 19, 2008
Catalina Capri 18 ann arbor
Hello,

I am a woodworker of modest skill. the wood trim around the companionway of my 1993 Capri 18 is damaged. I removed all of it, and I’m now considering that replacing all of it might be a bit of a stretch for me. The companionway threshold (for lack of anything better to call it) is made from a single piece of stock and features several compound angle cuts and curves.

The ones that are most damaged are also the easiest to reproduce, the complicated ones are in the best shape, and probably could be vastly improved with some scraping and sanding.

Does anyone have any idea what species these pieces would be?image.jpgimage.jpg

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
Teak is always a go to wood for its resistance to water damage.

There is no magic wood. You can use what you like. I have Iron Wood on my threshold/companion way. It serves the purpose.

You can use hard wood. Just protect it from the elements, and be ready to rebuild if wear and whether age the wood.

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
Looks like teak to me. Matching teak can be difficult because there are many varieties. As much as possible try removing the old finish and reusing the wood.

Jan 1, 2006
Slickcraft 26 Sailfish
If you hang around some wooden boat building sites, you'll see a bewildering assortment of woods which will work for the repair or building of boats. A lot are not available in a particular locale. Others may not have the physical properties suitable for your application. But you do not have to limit yourself to what was used before.
For complicated shapes lamination may be the easiest way. Offcenterharbor has videos regarding laminating curves that couldn't be done with steaming and often they use the humble Douglas fir. There's as much epoxy in these members as wood but they are successful.
You get a few videos for free but look at "Building the Ahoha, part 7" for some instruction on lamination.