Window unit AC install

DRW400

May 3, 2024
Columbia 9.6 Panama City
I am completely new at owning a sailboat,, i have a 1977 Columbia 9.6 and looking for some advise. I am wanting to install a window unit in the engine compartment over the engine in the compainionway ladder. I am worried about air flow through the coils, but not sure if the vents for the compartment will be sufficient to allow enough air circulation?>
20240503_183119.jpg

Jan 7, 2011
Oday 322 East Chicago, IN
You really need the get the heat out of the boat…so it must exhaust outside.

i put my window AC in the companionway, and blocked off the area around the unit. It is not convenient for getting in and out of the cabin, and iI had to remove it when I wanted to go sailing.

IMG_3115.png

A free-standing AC could work (these use hoses to exhaust the hot air out of the boat). They are not very efficient, but it would offer a little cooling. the unit takes up a lot of space though and needs to be secured when sailing.

A marine AC is the most efficient way to cool a boat, but they are expensive and require a thruhull, water pump, ducting, etc. I struggle to find a good spot to install a marine AC on my 32’ boat.

Greg

jssailem

SBO Weather and Forecasting Forum Jim & John
Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
Welcome to SBO. Congratulations on finding your boat.
Seems like already you are making plans to make the boat your own. Something more than the boat you bought.

What you choose to do often needs to be driven by how you want to use the boat.

A window unit plugged into the dock AC power works while you are at the dock.

If you wish to go sailing then you’ll need to invest (Break Out Another Thousand “BOAT” or more) in a generator powered AC unit which you can use while at anchor in some secluded bay.

Once you decide on the type of unit and the boat use expected the answers are more easily found.

DRW400

May 3, 2024
Columbia 9.6 Panama City