Replacing Prop Shaft for 84 Hunter 31

Aug 10, 2022
Hunter 31 Rock Hall, MD
Hey everyone,

I apologize for the basic questions, but I truly appreciate everyone's knowledge on this forum. I'm relatively new to boat ownership and am tackling most of the maintenance on my boat myself for the first time, with guidance from YouTube and this forum.

I own a 1984 Hunter 31, and last season my anodes detached early in the season (not sure exactly when), and unfortunately, my prop shaft suffered significant damage (I've attached pictures).

I managed to remove the damaged prop shaft myself and have already bought a replacement, along with all the necessary parts. While removing the old shaft, I quickly realized the rudder is in the way. I’m not sure how to remove the rudder or if it’s even necessary for installing the new prop shaft. Does anyone know if there’s a way to install the new shaft without removing the rudder, or if removal is necessary, how to go about it?

I understand it's a complex question and hard to answer without seeing the boat and having more details, but any advice or support on this project would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.

Attachments

Jan 7, 2011
Oday 322 East Chicago, IN
Hopefully you got the shaft from a reputable shop that sold you the right stuff…including the coupling. Also a very good time to replace the cutlass bearing…and consider a dripless shaft seal.

I don’t have a Hunter, but when I replaced the shaft, coupling, cutlass bearing and added a Volvo Dripless shaft seal on my O’Day 322, I did it with the rudder in place. Of course, the shaft lined up directly with the rudder, but I found a few tricks to get the new shaft in without dropping the rudder.

1) remove the cutlass bearing to give you a little wiggle room at that point on the shaft. Also, remove any shaft seal or stuffing box, so you don’t bind there.