Pearson 30 live aboard cruising?

Apr 27, 2022
Pearson 30 0 New London
I am in process of purchasing a 1973 Pearson 30 and was wondering if anyone had any recommendations to improve the small cabin for live aboard cruising? I would appreciate any feedback you might have. Things I already know I plan to do are swapping the currently not running Atomic 4 for a 10kw electric motor to regenerate power under sail. I am very new to sailing, and looking forward to cruising and exploring both locally and further afield from New England as I continue to sail. I have been reading many conflicting opinions about the blue water capabilities of the P30, I understand that statistically it is safe when sailed correctly for blue water. I have also read that the hull isn’t thick enough to bump anything in the water without a probability of holding the boat. I don’t know how valid this claim is, but I have watched people do cruises from San Francisco to Hawaii with us all blue water sailing, and they did not have any problems. Thanks in advanced for your recommendations.

jssailem

SBO Weather and Forecasting Forum Jim & John
Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
Welcome to the forum. Congrats on your new choice, living on the sea. It is easier in the YouTube Video's than it is in real life.
Your choice of a 1973 Pearson 30 is one that will likely need a lot of your time and money to make it truly sea worthy enough to take it far from the coast.

I understand the atomic 4 is non functional due to being in water. If that is the case, I would also have concern what else is compromised from that much water in the boat. Further I would be looking for why that much water was in the boat. My first priority in selecting a boat to sail or live on,
  1. The Hull Must keep the water outside of the boat.