Mastervolt Inverter Issue

Jan 10, 2023
Beneteau Oceanis 55 Anchorage
I have a Mastervolt 12/2000 (120v) Mass Sine inverter that works with a modest load ~1000W but resets if the load is anything more than that. The fans turn on for a second when turning the inverter on, and then nothing even with a load on it. Seems like the inverter isn't fully operating the way it should to take the higher end of loads. What are your thoughts?
--------
-No error lights illuminate.
-"On" light slightly blinks here and there
-1200ah AGM house battery bank (6x 210ah Full river AGM)
-Eco mode and standby mode not turned on
-Inverter is 10 years old, but in great visual condition and no corrosion
-12v supply cables in great condition
-200a breaker functional

May 17, 2004
Beneteau Oceanis 37 Havre de Grace
What gauge and length are the supply cables? My guess is the voltage is sagging below some threshold at the inverter. That could be because either the cables are too small and causing a voltage drop, or the batteries are worn and can’t put out that amperage anymore. To check you could put a load just below the problem level on the inverter and measure the voltage at both the battery posts and the inverter terminals.

Sep 24, 2018
O'Day 25 Chicago
Has it ever been subjected to heavy or inductive loads? I've seen audio amplifiers clip or go into protect mode early due to a partially fried output transistor

Jan 10, 2023
What gauge and length are the supply cables? My guess is the voltage is sagging below some threshold at the inverter. That could be because either the cables are too small and causing a voltage drop, or the batteries are worn and can’t put out that amperage anymore. To check you could put a load just below the problem level on the inverter and measure the voltage at both the battery posts and the inverter terminals.
Hi David,
Thank you for the quick reply!