Invest 97 Storm and Prediction

JamesG161

SBO Weather and Forecasting Forum Jim & John
Feb 14, 2014
Hunter 430 Waveland, MS
I am posting this forum, since I am an amateur Hurricane Forecaster. I began my study after my City of Waveland MS, was completely destroyed by Hurricane Katrina. The shock effect had most survivors scared each time a Storm formed in the following years.
My forecasts are days ahead of the News. So you can take this as you please, but I am batting +900 since 2006
After the standard Disclosure/Disclaimer...;)
Here is my forecast for Invest 97.

El Niño winds, drier from all the rain, and the Caribbean Islands are preventing it from being a Tropical storm. It is on track to skip across northern South America and into Mexico. The current High Pressure in the Gulf of Mexico (hot weather) is protecting the USA for now.
Gulf water is Warmer than last year by 2°F.
If the storm stalls in Gulf it will strengthen, but too early to call.
It is most likely not ever be more than gale winds and rain.

The other disturbance #96 will be El Niño destroyed or go into central Atlantic.

Keep you eyes on them and this stimulated my 2016 Hurricane preparation.

Not part of Sailing, but always a concern for boat preparations. Keep yourself and boat safe and prepared.
I will update this forecast if changed.
Jim...

JamesG161

Feb 14, 2014
Hunter 430 Waveland, MS
Update on 97...

So far Storm #97 is doing as predicted in post#1 ! It is fast moving westwardly at 20 mph. Danger is when storms move slower, like 10 mph. Slow storms gain energy and circulation over warm water. High pressure cells in the Gulf of Mexico continue to shield the USA Gulf. 97 will die soon, without much more than heavy rain (good for de-energizing Gulf warm waters for the season)

Storm #96 was destroyed!!! Go El Niño Go!

Jim...

JamesG161

Feb 14, 2014
Hunter 430 Waveland, MS