In support of the shop

Feb 28, 2022
Catalina 22 12482 Champaign-Urbana, IL
Hey guys

I have really appreciated this site in the short amount of time that I've had my boat, and would like to support the site through purchases on the shop.

One of the things that I learned way back in school is that close to 95% of customers never give honest feedback if it is not positive, but end up telling friends, so the owners never have a chance to make changes. So I'd like to be honest about the shop for a bit.

I've already invested a fair amount of money in upgrading my boat, but I've not yet made a purchase on the shop. I'm new to this boat, and so I am looking for a little guidance on things when I am shopping, and don't always know the right selection when faced with several choices. With my boat in storage, I don't always have the measurements handy. Sometimes I don't really know what I'm looking for, and just want to browse for specific things that I could upgrade on my boat.

Here are a few specific examples:

I know that I would like to replace some stops in my mast with something easier. When I go to the search, I was able to find these Sail Track Stops. However, the only way that I know which one fits my boat is to go to Catalina Direct and navigate by my boat (the Cat 22) until I get to this page. So now I'm using their dimensions to find what would fit my boat, and I'm torn between supporting the shop here because of the forum, or supporting Catalina Direct because they make it so easy to find things.