Biggest boat to feasibly tow/launch with a 1/2 ton

Status
Not open for further replies.
Apr 1, 2010
Cal 33 and Sea Pearl 21 . Crystal River, FL
Hello all. I am new to sailing and I am slowing getting everything lined out so that I will be in the position to buy my first boat. I plan on taking sailing classes also. I was curious on how big of a boat can be feasibly launched/retrieved and most importantly STOPPED with a 2wd silverado (7-8k tow rating). I know that the macgregor 26 is pretty light and easy to tow but I hate to limit myself to just once brand! The boat will be mostly used for weekend trips for now, so I think the bigger the better.

Dec 25, 2009
American 26 & MFG Challenger 12 American 8.0, Challenger 12 Lake Pepin, Wisc.
After purchasing my boat in Feb and getting it home. I realize that the McGregor 26 would be my choice now if I were to do it over again. I bought a 26' American 5300 lbs and it had another 1/2 to 3/4 of a ton of water (ice) in it and we hauled it with an F-250, 125 miles on the very first tow. It was not fun and it was scary. The lighter McGregor would seem to be a much nicer boat, especially if you are going to tow a lot. You might want to read the posts by Sumner and go to his web site about his McGregor. He tows his all over the place.

The only thing you can do to get a bigger boat is to go longer, 8' beam is about max because of the highway size restrictions. Adding a foot or two in length will not increase the interior volume anywhere near as fast as increasing width and you really can't do that. I could theoretically load a 30' boat onto my trailer, I just don't think I would ever want to try and haul it any long distance.

I use to haul a 5000 lb skid loader a lot with a F-250 and that was a white knuckle ride every time I did it. I wouldn't ever attempt that with a F-150 (1/2 ton). An internal bilge keel like the McGregor would definitely keep the weight down.

Nov 9, 2008
Pearson-O'Day 290 Portland Maine
Hawk,